Recensie: And the ocean was our sky

36979356. sx318

Auteur: Patrick Ness & Rovina Cai
Titel: And the ocean was our sky
Genre: Magisch Realisme, adaptatie
Taal: Engels
Jaar: 2018
ISBN: 9780062860729
Aantal pagina’s: 160
Gelezen: November 2021
♥♥♥♥

Omslagtekst:
With harpoons strapped to their backs, the proud whales of Bathsheba’s pod live for the hunt, fighting in the ongoing war against the world of men. When they attack a ship bobbing on the surface of the Abyss, they expect to find easy prey. Instead, they find the trail of a myth, a monster, perhaps the devil himself…

As their relentless Captain leads the chase, they embark on a final, vengeful hunt, one that will forever change the worlds of both whales and men.

With the lush, atmospheric art of Rovina Cai woven in throughout, this remarkable work by Patrick Ness turns the familiar tale of Moby Dick upside down and tells a story all its own with epic triumph and devastating fate.

Lees verder

Recensie: Noem me Nathan

57686989. sx318

Auteur: Catherine Castro en Quentin Zuttion
Titel: Noem me Nathan
Genre: Graphic Novel, LGBTQ+
Taal: Nederlands
Jaar: 2021
ISBN: 9789045125039
Aantal pagina’s: 144
Gelezen: November 2021
♥♥♥

Omslagtekst:
De puberteit is voor veel jongeren verwarrend, maar voor Nathan is het extra heftig. Hij voelt zich verraden door zijn eigen veranderende lichaam. Die borsten horen niet bij hem! Wanneer Nathan in de spiegel kijkt, ziet hij hoe zijn omgeving hem ziet: als een meisje. Door zijn wanhoop sluit Nathan zich af voor vrienden en familie. Maar wanneer hij zich langzaam maar zeker openstelt, reageert zijn omgeving liefdevol en kan hij beginnen aan de reis naar wie hij werkelijk is. 

Lees verder

Recensie: Dagboek van een weddingplanner

50259922. sx318

Auteur: Lotte Groosman
Titel: Dagboek van een weddingplanner
Genre: Non-fictie
Taal: Nederlands
Jaar: 2019
ISBN: 9789000367351
Aantal pagina’s: 192
Gelezen: Maart 2021
♥♥♥♥

Omslagtekst:
Van het aanzoek tot de trouwdag zelf: alle facetten van het plannen en organiseren van een bruiloft komen aan bod. Aan de hand van grappige anekdotes, mooie liefdesverhalen van bruidsparen én de uitdagende situaties en struggles die je niet voorzien had, geeft Lotte je tips en inspiratie voor je eigen trouwfeest. Want wat doe je als je prachtige Italiaanse bruiloft in het water dreigt te vallen door slecht weer? Daarnaast lezen we het verhaal van Lotte zelf, hoe ze weddingplanner werd, wat haar mooiste en moeilijkste momenten waren en waarom het elke keer weer zo bijzonder is zo’n belangrijke dag van anderen mee te maken. Rijk geïllustreerd met prachtige foto’s van de door haar georganiseerde bruiloften. Hoe kun je creatief trouwen en toch bij jezelf blijven? Lotte weet raad én geeft waargebeurde en aansprekende voorbeelden Het ultieme cadeautje voor iedereen met trouwplannen Uniek kijkje achter de schermen voor iedereen die meer wil weten over het beroep weddingplanner Lotte is bekend door haar LINDA.tv-serie Dagboek van een weddingplanner

Lotte Groosman weet als geen ander hoe je de bruiloft van je leven kunt organiseren. Ze was een van de eerste weddingplanners van Nederland en heeft menige grote BN’er-bruiloft op haar naam staan, in binnen- en buitenland. Op Franse chateaus, Italiaanse landgoederen of op vertrouwde plekken in Nederland. Maar waar draait een bruiloft nu echt om? Lotte gelooft dat het delen van jullie geluk met de leukste en liefste mensen uit je leven het belangrijkste is. Dat kan heel groots, maar net zo goed heel intiem. Hoe je dat doet, lees je in haar Dagboek van een weddingplanner.

Lees verder

Recensie: Akin

43209291

Auteur: Emma Donoghue
Titel: Akin
Genre: Historische fictie
Taal: Engels
Jaar: 2019
ISBN: 9781529019964
Aantal pagina’s: 352
Gelezen: Juli 2021
♥♥♥♥

Omslagtekst:
A retired New York professor’s life is thrown into chaos when he takes a young great-nephew to the French Riviera, in hopes of uncovering his own mother’s wartime secrets in the next masterpiece from New York Times bestselling author Emma Donoghue.

Noah Selvaggio is a retired chemistry professor and widower living on the Upper West Side, but born in the South of France. He is days away from his first visit back to Nice since he was a child, bringing with him a handful of puzzling photos he’s discovered from his mother’s wartime years. But he receives a call from social services: Noah is the closest available relative of an eleven-year-old great-nephew he’s never met, who urgently needs someone to look after him. Out of a feeling of obligation, Noah agrees to take Michael along on his trip.

Much has changed in this famously charming seaside mecca, still haunted by memories of the Nazi occupation. The unlikely duo, suffering from jet lag and culture shock, bicker about everything from steak frites to screen time. But Noah gradually comes to appreciate the boy’s truculent wit, and Michael’s ease with tech and sharp eye help Noah unearth troubling details about their family’s past. Both come to grasp the risks people in all eras have run for their loved ones, and find they are more akin than they knew.

Written with all the tenderness and psychological intensity that made Room an international bestseller, Akin is a funny, heart-wrenching tale of an old man and a boy, born two generations apart, who unpick their painful story and start to write a new one together.

Lees verder

Recensie: Escape to the French Farmhouse

50637634

Auteur: Jo Thomas
Titel: Escape to the French Farmhouse
Genre: Romance
Taal: Engels
Jaar: 2020
ISBN: 9780552176842
Aantal pagina’s: 384
Gelezen: Juli 2021
♥♥♥♥

Omslagtekst:
Del and her husband Ollie moved to a beautiful village in Provence for a fresh start after years of infertility struggles. But six weeks after they arrive, they’re packing the removal van once more. As Del watches the van leave for England, she suddenly realises exactly what will make her happier…a new life in France – without Ollie.

Now alone, all Del has is a crumbling farmhouse, a mortgage to pay and a few lavender plants. What on earth is she going to do? Discovering an old recipe book at the market run by the rather attractive Fabian, Del starts to bake. But can her new-found passion really help her let go of the past and lead to true happiness?

Lees verder

Recensie: Garden of Eden

1519682

Auteur: Ernest Hemingway
Titel: Garden of Eden
Genre: Literatuur
Taal: Engels
Jaar: 1986
ISBN: 9780684188713
Aantal pagina’s: 247
Gelezen: Juni 2021
♥♥♥♥

Omslagtekst:
This is the story of a young couple on an extended honeymoon in Mediterranean France and Spain that culminates into a dangerous, erotic triangle with a younger woman. Hemingway reveals much of the tenderness and vulnerability usually obscured by his public image.

Lees verder

Recensie: Dearly

50706476

Auteur: Margaret Atwood
Titel: Dearly
Genre: Poëzie
Taal: Engels
Jaar: 2020
ISBN: 9780063032491
Aantal pagina’s: 124
Gelezen: November 2021
♥♥♥♥

Omslagtekst:
In Dearly, Margaret Atwood’s first collection of poetry in over a decade, Atwood addresses themes such as love, loss, the passage of time, the nature of nature and – zombies. Her new poetry is introspective and personal in tone, but wide-ranging in topic. In poem after poem, she casts her unique imagination and unyielding, observant eye over the landscape of a life carefully and intuitively lived.

While many are familiar with Margaret Atwood’s fiction—including her groundbreaking and bestselling novels The Handmaid’s TaleThe TestamentsOryx and Crake, among others—she has, from the beginning of her career, been one of our most significant contemporary poets. And she is one of the very few writers equally accomplished in fiction and poetry.  This collection is a stunning achievement that will be appreciated by fans of her novels and poetry readers alike.

Lees verder

Recensie: The paris library

52761909

Auteur: Janet Skeslien Charles
Titel: The paris library
Genre: Historische fictie
Taal: Engels
Jaar: 2021
ISBN: 9781982134198
Aantal pagina’s: 351
Gelezen: Maart 2021
♥♥♥♥

Omslagtekst:
Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal.

Montana, 1983: Lily is a lonely teenager looking for adventure in small-town Montana. Her interest is piqued by her solitary, elderly neighbor. As Lily uncovers more about her neighbor’s mysterious past, she finds that they share a love of language, the same longings, and the same intense jealousy, never suspecting that a dark secret from the past connects them.

A powerful novel that explores the consequences of our choices and the relationships that make us who we are—family, friends, and favorite authors—The Paris Library shows that extraordinary heroism can sometimes be found in the quietest of places.

Lees verder

Recensie: Heidi

20893529

Auteur: Johanna Spyri
Titel: Heidi
Genre: Jeugdklassieker
Taal: Engels
Jaar: 1880
ISBN: 9780147514028
Aantal pagina’s: 295
Gelezen: Mei 2021
♥♥♥♥

Omslagtekst:
Orphaned Heidi lives with her gruff but caring grandfather on the side of Swiss mountain, where she befriends young Peter the goat-herd. She leads an idyllic life, until she is forced to leave the mountain she has always known to go and live with a sickly girl in the city. Will Heidi ever see her grandfather again? A classic tale of a young girl’s coming-of-age, of friendship, and familial love.

Lees verder

Recensie: Paris by Starlight

49012511. sy475

Auteur: Robert Dinsdale
Titel: Paris by Starlight
Genre: Magisch Realisme
Taal: Engels
Jaar: 2020
ISBN: 9781529100457
Aantal pagina’s: 480
Gelezen: November 2021
♥♥♥♥♥

Omslagtekst:

Every city has its own magic…

Every night on their long journey to Paris from their troubled homeland, Levon’s grandmother has read to them from a very special book. Called The Nocturne, it is a book full of fairy stories and the heroic adventures of their people who generations before chose to live by starlight.

And with every story that Levon’s grandmother tells them in their new home, the desire to live as their ancestors did grows. And that is when the magic begins…

Nobody can explain why nocturnal water dogs start appearing at the heels of every citizen of Paris-by-Starlight like the loyal retainers they once were. There are suddenly night finches in the skies and the city is transforming: the Eiffel Tower lit up by strange ethereal flowers that drink in the light of the moon.

But not everyone in Paris is won over by the spectacle of Paris-by-Starlight. There are always those that fear the other, the unexplained, the strangers in our midst. How long can the magic of night rub up against the ordinariness of day? How long can two worlds occupy the same streets and squares before there is an outright war?

Lees verder